I ALMOST SAID YES TO DESIGNING MY FRIENDS WEDDING INVITES (And you thought it was just cakes)

Now, I want to preface this little post by saying two things. Firstly, that I am pro-people. What I mean by that is that no matter who you are, what your background is and what you believe, I am a lover of people from all walks of life and as long as you have breath in your lungs, I have time and a place in my life for you. Secondly, I believe that you don’t have to agree with someones views and lifestyle choices in order to get along with, care about and play extreme shuffleboard with them. Thats how all of us lot (people) are able to get along, because on varying levels, no two single people on this earth agree on everything and behave in exactly the same ways.

That is why when my gay friend (lets call him Alvin:) asked me to design the invitation to his wedding to another man, I was able to say no.

You see the thing is, as much as I love Alvin (and his partner, Rod you sly bastard:), I do not in any way share their views on human sexuality, nor agree with their engagement with each other in a sexual relationship. I just disagree with it on a number of levels. The same way I disagree with my step mums veganism and the same way I disagree with my Dad’s hardline Atheism. These are all fundamental philosophical and behavioural stands that I simply am not on board with with. And neither do they for that matter agree with my meat-eating and theistic stands respectively. And yet we sit together and laugh, love and enjoy each others company. Now I know this is a deeply personally affecting subject for people, and I am not downplaying the significance of human sexuality in any way, but the fact remains that some people really believe that I am doing society a disservice by ‘wasting’ my sundays by being involved in a local church community and I am so completely fine with that. From their point of view that is exactly what I am doing, and I can understand that, and I can understand that. I just don’e agree. And yet we are able to laugh about our differences and still maintain our positions on these topics.

So it wasn’t hard at all for me to say no to my friend when he asked me to design his invitations. In fact, he admitted to suspecting that I might not feel comfortable with the idea. Because we’re friends and we respect each others beliefs. Thats what good friends do. I declined very graciously and he said he got it and we grabbed another round of beers.

This whole story though really does raise the issue about personal ethics in design. How much should we allow our personal views on people, ideologies and issues affect of professional lives as designers? To what degree is that appropriate and even financially viable? I’m just adding my voice to the chorus of countless others wrestling with these topics and I would love your thoughts.

What would you have done? Should designers exercise their right to decline work in matters such as these? Why/why not?

Leave a comment